Skip navigation

Faculty

Faculty Associates

Department Name Title Email
Anthropology Judy Ledgerwood Acting Dean, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and Presidential Engagement Professor, Anthropology jledgerw@niu.edu
Anthropology Andrea Molnar Presidential Engagement Professor, Anthropology akmolnar@niu.edu
Art History Catherine Raymond Director, Center for Burma Studies and Professor, Art History craymond@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures Rhodalyne Gallo-Crail Instructor, Foreign Languages and Literatures rgallocrail@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures Rahmi Aoyama Instructor, Foreign Languages and Literatures rhartati1@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures Kheang Leang Instructor, Foreign Languages & Literatures kleang@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures Tharaphi Than Assistant Professor, Foreign Languages and Literatures tthan@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures Kanjana Thepboriruk Assistant Professor, Foreign Languages and Literatures kanjana@niu.edu
Geography Wei Luo Presidential Research Professor, Geography wluo@niu.edu
Geography Jim Wilson Associate Professor, Health, Population jwilson41@niu.edu
Geology Melissa Lenczewski Associate Professor, Environmental Studies lenczewski@niu.edu 
History Kenton Clymer Distinguished Research Professor, History kclymer@niu.edu
History Trude Jacobsen Professor, History tjacobsen1@niu.edu
History Eric Alan Jones Acting Director, Center for Southeast Asian Studies and Associate Professor, History eajones@niu.edu
International Affairs Lina Davide-Ong Director, International Training Office, Division of International Affairs long@niu.edu
Music Jui-Ching Wang Associate Professor, Music jcwang@niu.edu
Political Science Aarie Glas Assistant Professor, Political Science aglas@niu.edu 
Political Science Kikue Hamayotsu Associate Professor, Political Science khamayotsu@niu.edu
Political Science Scot Schraufnagel Professor, Political Science sschrauf@niu.edu 
Political Science Kheang Un Associate Professor, Political Science kun1@niu.edu
Public Administration Kurt M. Thurmaier Professor and Director, Division of Public Administration kthur@niu.edu
Public Health Tomoyuki Shibata Associate Professor, Public Health tshibata@niu.edu
University Libraries Hao Phan Donn V. Hart Southeast Asia Collection Curator, University Libraries hphan@niu.edu

Retired Faculty Associates

Department Name Title Email
Anthropology Ronald Provencher Professor Emeritus rprovenc@juno.com
Anthropology Susan Russell Professor Emerita srussell@niu.edu
Art History Richard M. Cooler Professor Emeritus rmcooler@niu.edu
College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Arlene Neher Director Emerita, External Programming arleneneher@gmail.com 
Computer Science George "Jim" Henry Professor Emeritus henry@cs.niu.edu
Computer Science Robert Zerwekh Associate Professor Emeritus rzerwekh@niu.edu
Donn V. Hart Southeast Asian Library Collection Lee Dutton, Jr. Assistant Professor/Librarian Emeritus ldutton@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures John Hartmann Professor Emeritus hartmann.jf@gmail.com
Foreign Languages and Literatures Patricia Henry Professor Emerita phenry@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures Grant Olson Information Technology Coordinator, Foreign Language Multimedia Learning and Training Center golson@niu.edu
Foreign Languages and Literatures U Saw Tun Associate Professor Emeritus sawtun@niu.edu
History Barbara Posadas Professor Emerita bposadas@niu.edu
Music Kuo-Huang Han Professor Emeritus khan@niu.edu
Political Science Clark Neher Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus clarkneher@hotmail.com 
Public Administration Curtis H. Wood Associate Professor Emeritus chwood@niu.edu
University Libraries Chalermsee Olson Interim Dean, University Libraries eteolson@niu.edu

Affiliates

Department Name Title Email
Accountancy Chih-Chen Lee Professor cclee@niu.edu
Audiology King Chung Associate Professor kchung@niu.edu
English Doris M. Macdonald Associate Professor dmvm@niu.edu
Family, Consumer and Nutrition Sciences Florensia F. Surjadi Assistant Professor fsurjadi@niu.edu
History Sean Farrell Associate Professor sfarrel1@niu.edu
Pick Anthropology Museum Jennifer Kirker Priest Director jkirker@niu.edu
Psychology Alecia M. Santuzzi Associate Professor asantuzzi@niu.edu

Adjuncts

Department College/University Name Title Email
Anthropology Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville Nancy Lutz Associate Professor nlutz@siue.edu
History Creighton University Michael Hawkins Assistant Professor MichaelHawkins@creighton.edu
Human Needs and Global Resources Wheaton College Laura Yoder Director Laura.Yoder@wheaton.edu
Northern Illinois University Alan Potkin Independent Scholar apotkin@niu.edu
Teacher Education North Central College. Nancy Keiser Associate Professor njkeiser@noctrl.edu